IT’S FINALLY DONE!!!

I hadn’t updated this blog with my posts in a little while but I had kept it going in my RPF thread as best I could through the last leg of this marathon of costume creation. If you’re interested in the details, head on over to The RPF to check out my thread (link is at the top of the page as well).

Well, here’s the moment you’ve all been waiting for: pictures!

 

I also shot a couple short videos during the shoot:

~ by talaaya on September 29, 2014.

18 Responses to “IT’S FINALLY DONE!!!”

  1. This is amazing! The armor looks so good. l love it all.

  2. I went trough the (small) trouble of registering an account just to congratulate you on an extraordinary job. I think it’s the best version of that suit I have seen and I wish you the appropriate recognition of the great work you did. You should work officially in the industry.

  3. Found you via GeekTyrant. This is truly amazing. One of the best cosplays I’ve ever seen. You nailed it!

  4. A M A Z I N G!

    Metroid is one of my favourite series and when I first saw a photo of your creation I thought they were announcing a new title for the Wii U 😡

    Congratulations and keep your incredible work! We never know when Ridley may appear and…….

    😀

  5. perfect job!!

  6. Amazing Job! Just curious, where do you live and where did you get all this experience from? Work in prototyping industry?

    • I live in Washington. I have general art experience from being an artist my whole life, I know all about 3D modeling because I’m a game developer, but the rest (Worbla, molding/casting, bondo, etc.) I learned as I went along.

  7. That suit is awesome. Great job on it.

  8. Wow, great work, best cosplay I’ve ever seen , your Varia Suit is a masterpiece , congratulations .

  9. that’s awesome! I especially love how the hand and arm turned out! it’s skintight! 😮 I’m making a similar gauntlet and I’m wondering what to use as a protective layer on your skin when forming the worbla on yourself? I’m thinking about a long sleeved shirt and gloves with tinfoil over that to reflect heat or maybe just foil idk?

    • Thank you! I just used the silk glove liner which I eventually attached the glove armor to. I still had to be careful but it helped a lot. I wouldn’t recommend foil. While foil does release heat quickly, it doesn’t really block much heat at all.

  10. This is so amazing. I saw an image from 3DTotal and thought it was for a new Metroid game at first. You are my heroine. 🙂

    This also makes me excited for the future of costumes with 3D printing.

  11. AMAZING job! I was curious how you attached the Varia shoulder orbs to the rest of the suit? I’d be worried that they would move or bounce around, but it looks like they are attached pretty solidly.

    • Thank you!
      There are speaker wall mounts screwed onto the chest piece, which allow the shoulders to rotate. The mounts have a slide that comes out of them. This slide is screwed to a tripod of this thick laminated cardboard stuff I had on hand which is hot glued to the shoulder. And yes, it’s quite solid.

  12. do you wear a balaclava behind your helmet..?

Leave a Reply

 
