Light Tape Sample

eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! It’s heeeeeeere!!

5m6h4qv.jpgwofouv8.jpg77yiohs.jpg

and with the light turned off:

d1hsfiu.jpgykshnvo.jpgmquywd3.jpg

It’s PERFECT!! Man this stuff is hard to get a good picture of. No matter what I do it just ends up looking white when the light is turned on. In person the entire thing is a solid, vibrant, green when lit up.

This sample I got is 1/2″x4′ and it runs off a 9v battery via an included driver box.

I think I’ve figured out what lengths and widths I need to buy. I made a diagram to help me visualize and keep track of everything:
dprz9bo.jpg
(Measurements are all in inches.)

The dash mark lines at the top are the non-center curves on the shoulder bells. Since it’s a curve along the off center surface of a sphere I can’t have a singular strip because the strip would have to curve and light tape doesn’t curve. So it’ll be one big strip down the center and 5 small strips along each side. I’ll be using my sample piece for the small strips.

Hopefully it’s not too hard to connect everything together, but if anything it won’t be harder than doing LEDs, so there’s that.

The tape doesn’t work for lighting the visor so I’ll have to figure something else out for that – maybe just a couple LEDs.

Yay! I am SO glad this is working out.

~ by talaaya on May 28, 2014.

2 Responses to “Light Tape Sample”

  1. Consider that you’ll want con-goers photos to look nice too. These things are tough to balance…

    • Ah yeah good point. Although I’m not really sure I have any other options since I need the lights to be thin to fit in my leg armor. It could also maybe just be my less than stellar camera. There’s always photoshop I guess.

Leave a Reply

 
